Online dating Continued

I left off with standing up for yourself when the creepers start creeping, something I forgot to mention is to use that BLOCK button!!! Sometimes its my favorite thing to click!

Now when you do get a message from someone who appears normal and you have read their profile respond however you want. (Quick side note: I never email/message a guy first. I let them start a convo) If you can tell they have a sense of humor based on their profile or the initial message be funny. If you think they will catch your sarcasm and snarkiness do it! Be yourself ladies. If he can’t handle your personality in an email then clearly he doesn’t deserve any more of your attention. The beauty of online dating I find is that you have the power. Plain and simple. A friend once told me that I treated these sites like a “man menu” and quite frankly FUCK YEAH I DO! I’ve been through the ringer with men. I know what I want, what I can get, and how I am going to get it. Now not all men on these sites are total assholes, some of them are actually quite great and polite and worth your time. If you find one of those guys jump on that shit! If you have to reject a thousand assholes first well I’m sure it was worth it!

When it comes down to actually meeting a guy, ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS pick a public place! Meet him there, even if you wait outside and do the sometimes awkward first meeting stuff out there first. I find that with guys you can tell right away whether or not you are going to have a decent connection but sometimes they will surprise you. My current “regular” shocked me, we didn’t meet online but our first meeting was weird and our first hangout was actually quite nice. We’ve been “seeing” (also code for sleeping together) each other since early November and every time we are together it is even more comfortable than before, so don’t be caught off guard if it doesn’t feel right at first. But if you do have a connection right a way 10 points for you!

NEVER SCHEDULE TWO IN ONE NIGHT!

I realize that once the emails start rolling in we as women can get a little cocky ourselves but be respectful of the man who is taking you out and don’t double book an evening. I will admit I have done this but it wasn’t exactly a planned thing…. I had one guy lined up to be my DD after a bachelorette party and didn’t intend to meet a gorgeous 6’6″ cowboy at the bar. Accidents happen so we can allow for that but NEVER intentionally do it.

The online world is a scary one ladies so always be safe when doing anything. Some guys can get creepy fast. I’ve been there too…. I had one guy “fall in love” with me in less than two weeks and when I told him I needed space he thought that meant limiting it to 15 texts, 1 phone call, and 3 emails a day. And even after that he sent a letter (YES A LETTER) to my house and refused to give me his return address so I could send it back. Fail for him because I sent it to his work… he’s a police officer fyi.

Ok… I think I have more or less rambled on enough here… we’ll leave it at that for the day! Good luck and happy hunting!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

